This is the first poem I ever wrote. I came up with it when I was feeding our animals when I was about 14. It is kinda typical of youth and I’m not sure I even know what I was going for at the time…but no matter. It was the first, but not the last. 

It is the superior man that falls the hardest,

at having lost, his blood boils with jealousy and rage,

if his superiority discontinues, he, himself discontinues

 

Life, in its darkest form,

he falls at the mercy of life from clouds so high,

onto the barren jagged, untamed rocks of the Earth.

 

They have seen so much of time, life,

they patiently await its end

exposed themselves by time, life, they take life away

 

Then another pawn takes his place in the majestic clouds

to continue the rising and falling of power,

the Cycle.

