You say I must just get over it
that it’s not fair to hold on
say my pains drag me into a pit
wounds are why healing hasn’t begun.

How can I get over it?
When the wounds are so deep
When they penetrate beyond flesh
to my soul they reach.

How can I get over it?
When I am still bleeding
deep red blood still flowing
my once clean clothes staining.

How can I get over it?
When I’m in so much pain
It throbs and pounds my brain
I struggle to remain sane.

How can I get over it?
When I’m reminded every day
in the things that you say
deepening the hurts in the way

How can I get over it?
When I still have tears
and amassed significant fears
built up for many years.

How can I get over it?
When you’ve hurt me so badly
I’m not sure I can heal so quickly
Perhaps I never will, sadly.

You say I must just get over it.
That clinging to pain and anger is sin.
Yet it seems me doing so is to your benefit.
Remembering the pain keeps it from happening again.

