Dr-Strange-Quotation

This Dr. Strange quote inspired this poem. Enjoy. 

Smile on my face and words, joking
Hide the battle ever raging
Between myself and again, myself
The never ending war within oneself

Claws ever scratching at my soul
Digging deeper for total control
Hot words hissed into my ears
Convincing me of my greatest fears

My demons demanding my attention
Gathered over years of frustration
Failures, abuse, mistakes and sins
Opened the door to demons, let them in

They are part of me now ever thirsty
To drink my blood to them so tasty
Seeking my depravity, demise, ruin
Steal my confidence and reputation

Sadly, the demons have won sometimes
Been dark clouds stealing the sunshine
Wrapped my heart in their malice and deceit
Till I cried in pain, broken, beat

No more do I battle them as before
They will never leave, here evermore
Though I have learned to live above them
They may remain, but they no longer win

I am glad for them in the end
They showed me a life very dim
Also that I have the power to choose
When they invite failure, I can refuse

My demons made me stronger in strife
Allow me to live a peaceful life
Never rid of the demons I’ve collected
Only I’ve their taunts rejected

